H-2A Program 

The H-2A temporary agricultural program allows agricultural employers who anticipate a shortage of domestic workers to bring nonimmigrant foreign workers to the U.S. to perform agricultural labor or services of a temporary or seasonal nature. Employment is of a seasonal nature where it is tied to a certain time of year by an event or pattern, such as a short annual growing cycle, and requires labor levels above what is necessary for ongoing operations. Employment is of a temporary nature when the employer's need to fill the position with a temporary worker will, except in extraordinary circumstances, last no longer than one year.

 

Information on the Use of the H-2A Program

The Office of Foreign Labor Certification is making available program factsheets displaying key selected statistics about each of our major immigration programs. These factsheets include cumulative information and are updated on a quarterly basis.

FY 2023, Quarter 4

Previous Years can be found at this link (scroll to the bottom of the page).

 

Resources for those considering or already participating in the H-2A Program:

 

DOL: H-2A Program

Foreign Labor Application Gateway (FLAG) System

FLAG: H-2A Program Site

  • User Guides
  • Video Tutorials

Adverse Effect Wage Rates

Forms

 

Farm Labor Practices Group

H-2A Process Map

Tips for Getting the H-2A Process Started Right

 

H-2A Agricultural Worker Program Presentation February 2024

Brian Pasternak, Administrator
Office of Foreign Labor Certification
Employment and Training Administration
U.S. Department of Labor

 

For more information click on the Frequently Asked Questions:

 

Information on the H-2A AEWR Final Rule and "Big 6"

The most common agricultural occupations, known as the "Big 6" will have a single statewide AEWR.

Farmworkers and Laborers, Crop, Nursery and Greenhouse Workers

45-2092

Farmworkers, Farm, Ranch, and Aquacultural Animals

45-2093

Agricultural Equipment Operators

45-2091

Packers and Packagers, by Hand

53-7064

Graders and Sorters, Agricultural Products

45-2041

All Other Agricultural Workers

45-2099


The overwhelming majority of workers will fall into this category, AEWR published in January of each year.

  

From left to right: Miguel Perez, US DOL WH NC CORPS; Drew Long, NC Department of Commerce State Workforce Agency Program Director; Brian Pasternak, Administrator Office of Foreign Labor Certification Employment and Training Administration US DOL; and Richard Blaylock, US DOL WH NC District Director. (February 2024, Southern Farm Show, Raleigh, NC)

Contact information:

Georgia Office of Foreign Labor Certification
Rossany Rios, Director of Grants and Strategic Populations
Office of Workforce Development
Office Phone: 404.679.5446
Email: rrios@tcsg.edu
Website: TCSG.edu/Workforce

Georgia Office of Workforce Development
Felipe Pacheco, State Monitor Advocate
Office Phone: 770-202-5585
Email: fpacheco@tcsg.edu

Kentucky Office of Employment & Training
Jeff Gatewood, State Monitor Advocate
Phone: (502) 782-3079
Email: Jeff.Gatewood@ky.gov 

North Carolina Department of Commerce – Agricultural Services
Drew Long, FLC and State Workforce Agency (SWA) Program Director
Phone:  (919) 210-3644
Email:  drew.long@commerce.nc.gov 

North Carolina State Monitor Advocate
Guillermo Fernandez, State Monitor Advocate
Office Phone: (910) 592-5756
Cell Phone:  (704) 880-8651
Email:  guillermo.fernandez@commerce.nc.gov 

South Carolina Office of Foreign Labor Certification
Richard Shobe
Phone:  803-737-1649
Email:  rpshobe@dew.sc.gov

South Carolina State Workforce Agency (SWA)
Diana Goldwire
Phone:  864-315-9751
Email:  dgoldwire@dew.sc.gov

South Carolina State Agriculture Monitor
Abdalis Toro, State Agriculture Monitor
Phone: 803-737-253
Email:  atoro@dew.sc.gov

Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Lance Butler, State Monitor Advocate
Office Phone: (615) 741-5671
Email:  Lance.Butler@tn.gov

Virginia Foreign Labor Certification
Cindy Webb, Program Manager
Cell: (540) 431-9296
Email: Cynthia.webb@vec.virginia.gov

Virginia State Monitor Advocate
Michelle Castelloe Abraham, State Monitor Advocate
Cell:  (804) 786-6094
Email: Carolyn.abraham@vec.virginia.gov